Aspects of Play: Injustice: Gods Among Us

As part of the module, the task was to look into various types of games within the 3 specific bands of play. The band this game I shall be discussing ‘Injustice: Gods Among Us’ belongs to is Console.

When playing Injustice, I personally found that it belonged to the following categories of play in relation to Roger Caillois’ theory of play; Mimicry, Agon and Alea

In terms of Mimicry, you play as an array of fighters from the DC and Mortal Kombat universes (Well, only Scorpion really). The aim of the game is to beat up your opponent through, violent methods. Agon is the primary element within the game as the game is centered around player vs player (multiplayer) and player vs AI (singleplayer), forcing the player to go against something promotes the competitive aspect. Alea comes in the form of human error of which human mistakes and mishaps alter the gameplay and promote and element of chance. Illinx does not make an appearance within the game simply because of the type of game it is, being a fighting game with stages that need to be visible to the viewer, disorienting them is very difficult and unnecessary.

In terms of elements in this game that I liked, I really liked the dynamic stage interactions that occur within the game, that allow the player to use certain environment cues to shift the momentum of gameplay. Also I like the varying difference each fighter has in terms of gameplay that vary the effects and tactics each game give.

State of Flow, was it achieved?

Yes, although briefly. Personally I don’t play fighting games, because I genuinely have no idea what I’m doing in them. On this occasion however, I didn’t know what I was doing, but I still entered flow. This was within various fights, as the attempt to at least stay alive within the game required an intense amount of focus.

If I were personally designing a game similar to this, I would find a way to improve the learning curve to newer players and make it more appealing and playable to those who have no idea how to play fighting games.

Leave a Reply

